Scientific Advisory Board

Hugh P.J. Bennett Ph.D. – Professor and Chair Dept. of Experimental Medicine, Director of the Sheldon Biotechnology Institute, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec. Hugh has extensive expertise in protein and peptide isolation and structure-function relationships. As Director of the Sheldon Biotechnology Institute, he has current knowledge of the most discerning purification and analytical methodologies as applied to biomolecules. Hugh is a co-discover of Progranulin, the basis of one of Neurodyn’s neuroprotectant technologies.

Christopher A. Shaw Ph.D. – Chris is the Chair of the SAB and co-founder of Neurodyn. He is an acknowledged expert on animal models of neurological disease, especially the ALS-Parkinsonism dementia complex. Dr. Shaw is Professor of Ophthalmology, Medical Faculty, University of British Columbia where he holds cross appointments to the Department of Physiology and Experimental Medicine, and author of over 100 peer reviewed publications, over 130 scientific abstracts, and editor or author of 4 books on topics in neuroscience.

Michael Strong MD, FRCP(C), FAAN, FCAHS – Dean, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry; Interim Scientific Director, Robarts Research Institute; Professor, Department of Clinical Neurological Sciences; Arthur J Hudson Chair in ALS Research; Distinguished University Professor at Western University. Mike is the past chair of the health professional advisory committee of the ALS Society of Canada. He has extensive experience both as a clinical Neurologist with a special focus on ALS, and as a basic research scientist where he and his colleagues were the first to describe a specific Tauopathy present in the brains of cognitively impaired ALS patients. Mike is Fellow of; the Royal College of Physicians (Can); the American Academy of Neurology and the Canadian Academy of Health Scientists.

R.A.R. Tasker Ph.D., FCAHS – Andrew is Professor of Neuropharmacology at UPEI’s Atlantic Veterinary College is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. A former Associate Dean, Research at UPEI, Dr. Tasker was the Founding Director of the Atlantic Centre for Comparative Biomedical Research and one of six founding scientists of NoNO Inc., a Toronto-based drug discovery company. An internationally acknowledged authority of the neurotoxicology of domoic acid and other glutamatergic ligands he specializes in behavioral models appropriate to the study of epilepsy, stroke and cognitive decline.


Memogain® Advisory Board

Dr. Chris Fibiger – Dr. Fibiger received his B.Sc. in Chemistry and Psychology from the University of Victoria in 1966 and his Ph.D. in Psychopharmacology from Princeton University in 1970. Dr. Fibiger was formerly the Chief Scientific Officer for Biovail Laboratories International (now Valeant). From 2003 until 2007 he was Vice President and Global Head of Neuroscience at Amgen. Before joining Amgen in 2003, Dr. Fibiger served as Vice President of Neuroscience Discovery Research and Clinical Investigation, and LRL Europe at Eli Lilly and Company. Before moving to Lilly in 1998, Dr. Fibiger served as Professor and Head of the Division of Neurological Sciences and Chair of the University Graduate Program in Neuroscience at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. He has made numerous contributions to neuroscience research and, during his academic career, was among the top 100 most cited scientists in neuroscience. He has received many honors for his research contributions, including the Clark Institute Prize in Psychiatry, the Heinz Lehmann Award of the Canadian College of Neuropsychopharmacology, the Killam Research Prize, the Gold Medal in Health Sciences from the Science Council of British Columbia and the Tanenbaum Distinguished Scientist Award in Schizophrenia Research. He is a Fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP). Dr. Fibiger serves on the editorial boards of several journals in the field of neuroscience and has been coeditor of Neuropsychopharmacology, the official publication of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.


Mr. Jack Kay – With over 45 years in the pharmaceutical industry, and, since 1995, as President of Apotex Inc., Mr. Kay is fully aware of the challenges involved in bringing new drugs to market.  The Apotex Group is the largest Canadian-owned group of pharmaceutical companies. He has decades of senior operational, sales and marketing experience within the pharmaceutical industry. He is a director of several institutional and charitable organizations, including a director of Baycrest Hospital, and a past Chairman of the Humber River Regional Hospital, the International Schizophrenia Foundation, and the Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association. He is also a director of Cangene Corporation, a TSX traded public biopharmaceutical company.


Dr. Barry Greenberg – Barry Greenberg has been involved in Alzheimer’s disease research and drug discovery since 1985. He has held a series of positions internationally in the US, Sweden and Canada within the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries. Before joining University Health Network (UHN) as Director, Neuroscience Drug Discovery and Development, he was Senior Director of Pharmacology at Neurochem, where he was responsible for the preclinical biology research program and contributor to the analyses of the phase III Alzhemed trial. He is also co-directing, as Director of Strategy for the Toronto Dementia Research Alliance at UHN, a consortium involving academic research and the five memory clinics at hospitals affiliated with the University of Toronto to create a citywide dementia research center. He possesses a significant background in most aspects of the drug discovery process in neurological disease, with externally recognized expertise ranging from target identification and validation through preclinical and clinical development including issues of biomarker-based diagnosis. He has a strong international network in the Alzheimer field including industry, academia, government and the voluntary sector, plus previous involvement in multi-sector consortia, and was recently a member of the committee charged with drafting the scientific strategic recommendations to inform the National Alzheimer Plan in the US.. He has authored or co-authored 70 articles in peer-reviewed journals and 19 book chapters and reviews.